Regular update: Mid October

Ah yes! Time for another update. And we got some news here for you guys (and possibly girls). I made most of my goals from last time and I got something shiny new to start on! And I got a little game played on which I can give a few words on.

So please read on..

So first and second goal from last time, to finish the Ghostkeel and the Stealth Drones that go with it. Well they are battle-ready! And I’m pretty proud on how they turned out. Last small little off bits you can see (well maybe you can’t but I know they are there) I can work away with the last stage of highlights of the whites, black and gray.

Here he is from all angles and with the other most used load-out. As the Flamers can come on but are hardly used in game.

I still also made sure the Cockpit can be opened, but that is mostly for display purposes.

I also made my second goal to add another few models with my new markings. They are now added on the 2 Shield Drones that accompany my Enforcer Commander, the Cadre Fireblade, the Stealth Suits (first team) and the Piranha are now correctly marked.

Now the last goal to do a bit off more work on the Commander didn’t happen. So I hope he gets a bit more love coming weeks but more on the new goals in a bit.

Now about that game. I tried to get a 2k points game 1vs1 in also, but it only became a 2vs2 I did, as some club members needed the practice for an upcoming Friendly Fire tournament.
I paired up with a Space Wolfs army against Death Guard and Deathwatch. Mortarion and a Corvus Blackstar as our prime opponent models.
As my Cadre Fireblade was kinda a bit squishy we opted to make the Space Wolfs Commander on wolf the Warlord. It took us a bit of effort to take down Mortarion first and the Corvus a bit later and then we could clean up a little afterwards after dealing with the Nurgle Prince and the load of the Corvus in our lines. Eventually we needed to call it after 3 or 4 battle rounds on a draw on points (Maelstrom game), but if the game had continued we would easily be able to finish off the left overs from our opponents.
MVP from my army should be the single Stealth Suit unit.. losing 2 but the Shas’vre just refused to die.. even at the hand of Mortarion.

So what was that new shiny thing then???

2018-10-15 Kill Team box bought

YESSSSS, Kill Team!! I wanted this when it came out, but so much fancy new stuff back then and a vacation coming up that I had to postpone it till now! I hope I can create some nice smaller battles with Benthe that won’t take to long and thus drive her attention span over the limit. Though still getting to grips with the rules of 40k (well mostly then). With 2 Kill Teams with this box plus our own collections of T’au and (some) Salamanders Space Marines we can diversify a bit with playing this game.

This then also puts me in a bit of a odd split. I still want to drive on with my T’au forces to painting them, but also build all the stuff from Kill Team. So I will try to get as far as possible on both for the coming weeks, but not try to overrun my self with an impossible deadline to make because of the dual focus.

So coming goals:

  • Start on the second group of Stealth Suits (this is the last unit of my Vanguard Detachment)
  • Remark more models (mostly drones)
  • Build the scenery of Kill Team
  • Build the Skitarii models for Kill Team (per the defined team)
  • Build the Genestealer models for Kill Team (per the defined team)

Now you might have noticed I left out the Coldstar Commander. And yes I have as I felt I can’t take him in at this point for the coming 2 weeks as I also want to prioritize the Stealth Suits to finish the detachment soon (the Coldstar is from the other detachment – Battalion).

Well that was all from this update. Maybe next time a little short story on my first Kill Team battle.

Now hobby on for the Greater Good that is Warhammer!

Leave a comment